Clinic AI Starter Kit: 10 admin jobs you can hand to AI this month
Updated 2026-10-17
Until then, read the sample issues, the guides and the Starter Kit on the site.
Clinic AI Starter Kit: 10 admin jobs you can hand to AI this month
For each job: what it does, two or three real tools with the price from the vendor's own page, setup effort, a privacy check and our verdict. Prices were checked on 2026-10-17 and change often, so check the vendor's page before you buy.
Two plain warnings first:
- Some of these jobs are not really "AI". Reminders, intake forms and claims are mostly automation. They are still worth doing, and they are often already in software you pay for.
- Some tools are not ready for Canadian clinics. Where a tool is US-only, stores data outside Canada, or says it cannot handle health information, we say so.
Before you start: the privacy check for every tool
- You stay responsible. Under PIPEDA (the federal private-sector privacy law), a business that sends personal information to a service provider is still accountable for it. It must use a contract or other means to get a comparable level of protection (OPC, Guidelines for processing personal data across borders). Ontario's privacy commissioner (IPC) says the same for health custodians under PHIPA (Ontario's health privacy law): you stay accountable when you use a third party (summary of IPC AI scribe guidance, Norton Rose Fulbright).
- Ask where the data is processed. That includes any country outside Canada. PIPEDA does not ban processing outside Canada, but you must tell patients and protect the data (OPC).
- Ask if the vendor uses your data for its own purposes, such as training AI. The federal privacy commissioner's guidance on vetting vendors (updated 2026-09-10, open for comment until 2026-12-04) lists this check. It also lists data flows, where processing happens, security, breach handling, deletion including backups, and what happens when the contract ends (OPC, Guidance on assessing third-party service providers).
- Get it in writing. Ask for a data processing agreement or PHIPA agent agreement, not just a marketing page.
- Email and text. The IPC expects encryption for health information sent by email where it is feasible. If you use unencrypted email with patients, have a written policy, tell patients about it, and get their consent (IPC fact sheet: Communicating Personal Health Information by Email).
- Check your college. Some colleges have their own AI or advertising rules. Examples include the College of Physiotherapists of Ontario AI principles and the College of Chiropractors of Ontario S-016.
1. After-hours call answering
What it does: An AI voice agent answers calls your team misses. It takes a booking request or a message, answers set FAQs (parking, hours, prices), and sends a summary to your team.
Tool options:
- ZeroMiss (Canadian, Vancouver)
- Cost: After-Hours & Overflow plan CA$199/month with 200 AI minutes. Extra minutes are CA$0.40. No setup fee (ZeroMiss pricing).
- Jane: It does not write into Jane. It sends the booking request to your front desk to confirm (ZeroMiss physio page).
- Privacy: The vendor says it stores data in Canada and calls itself "PIPEDA-aligned". It does not mention PHIPA (ZeroMiss physio page).
- Agreement: A data processing agreement is listed only on the CA$299/month Full-Time plan. Ask if the CA$199 plan includes one (ZeroMiss pricing).
- Setup time: Not stated.
- Founding offer: The first 10 clinics can lock in CA$149/month in exchange for feedback and a testimonial (ZeroMiss pricing).
- Verdict: Try it if you use Jane, after the privacy questions above.
- AI receptionists listed in Cliniko's connected apps, such as Aeva AI and Able by Lyngo.
- What they do: Aeva says it can book, reschedule or cancel directly in Cliniko (Cliniko: Aeva AI).
- Setup time: Aeva says self-serve setup "takes up to an hour".
- Cost: Neither listing shows a price. Prices are not confirmed.
- Privacy: Aeva's listing says patient data is stored on servers in Australia (Cliniko: Aeva AI). Lyngo's listing names Australian, NZ, UK and EU privacy laws, not Canadian ones (Cliniko: Lyngo). Ask both about Canadian data handling before you sign.
- Verdict: Watch it.
- Smith.ai AI Receptionist
- Cost: Free plan with 25 calls/month. Pro from $150/month (currency shown as "$", likely USD) (Smith.ai pricing).
- Not ready for patient health information: Smith.ai's own FAQ says it "is not HIPAA-compliant and cannot handle protected health information (PHI)" (Smith.ai medical page). HIPAA is the US health privacy law. Only consider it for non-health calls like hours and directions.
- Setup time: Not stated.
- Verdict: Skip it for patient calls.
Not ready yet: Jane lists its own AI receptionist as "in development" (Jane). Jane's phone integration with Mango Voice is "US only" (Jane guide).
Full guide: AI after-hours answering for physio clinics
2. Booking and no-show reminders
What it does: Sends automatic text or email reminders. Patients can confirm or cancel, and staff can fill the gap. This is mostly automation, not AI.
Tool options:
- Jane (built in)
- Cost: The Practice plan (CA$79/month for one full-time practitioner; each extra practitioner costs more, and the same applies to Thrive prices below) includes "Unlimited, free SMS Appointment Reminders". SMS availability varies by region (Jane pricing).
- Privacy: Jane's privacy notice says reminder content "will be processed and may be stored temporarily in the United States" (Jane privacy notice).
- Setup time: Low. It is a settings change.
- Verdict: Try it.
- Cliniko (built in)
- Cost: From US$45/month for one practitioner. SMS credits are 10¢ per message (Cliniko pricing).
- Privacy: Accounts created in Canada after March 2020 can choose to store data in Canada (Cliniko help).
- Setup time: Low. It is a settings change.
- Verdict: Try it.
- Weave
- Cost: "Starting from $199 per month". The page does not name the currency (Weave pricing).
- Integrations: Reminders integrate with Dentrix and Dentrix Ascend (Weave, Aug 26, 2025).
- Privacy: Weave's terms say subscriber data may be processed in the United States or other countries (Weave terms). Weave has a Canadian personal health information addendum that names PHIPA (Weave DPA).
- Setup time: Weave says every plan includes "expert onboarding". No time stated (Weave pricing).
- Verdict: Try it if your practice software can't send two-way confirmations.
Full guide: Booking and no-show reminders for dental clinics
3. Online intake forms
What it does: Patients fill in intake and consent forms before the visit. The answers go straight into the chart, so nobody retypes them. This is automation, not AI.
Tool options:
- Jane: Intake forms are included in every plan (Jane pricing). The Balance plan is CA$59/month but is limited to 20 appointments a month. Practice is CA$79/month.
- Cliniko: All subscriptions include "Every Cliniko feature" (Cliniko pricing). Patient forms can go out automatically in the appointment confirmation email (Cliniko help: patient forms).
- Dental: If your dental software has no built-in forms, ask your reminder or communication vendor (job 2) if it offers forms. Also ask if completed forms write back into your chart software, and which software versions are supported. We did not verify forms features or prices for dental vendors.
Verdict: Try it if your practice software already includes forms (Jane, Cliniko). Watch it for dental add-ons until you have confirmed write-back.
Setup time: Mostly the time to rebuild your paper forms. No vendor states a time.
Privacy: The form data is stored wherever your practice software stores data. Jane says Canadian accounts are stored in Montreal and Calgary (Jane security FAQ).
4. Insurance and benefits paperwork, and claims follow-up
What it does: Submits claims to insurers electronically, checks eligibility, and tracks what has been paid.
Honest note: We found no AI tool for Canadian allied-health claims that we could verify. What works today is integrated e-billing.
Tool options:
- Jane Insurance Billing + TELUS eClaims
- What it does: Jane says you can "Submit, reverse, and process eligibility checks" for TELUS eClaims from inside Jane (Jane TELUS).
- Cost: The Insurance Billing add-on is CA$20/month plus $5 or $2.50 per extra full-time or part-time practitioner. It is available on Practice and Thrive only (Jane pricing).
- Limits: Some insurers, such as Sun Life, only take claims through their own portal (Jane guide).
- TELUS eClaims directly
- Cost: TELUS's eClaims page describes the service as free for providers, but we could not load it to confirm on 2026-10-17. Not confirmed. (TELUS eClaims)
Verdict: Try it if you already use Jane Practice or Thrive. This is e-billing, not AI.
Setup time: Not stated by Jane.
Privacy: This is the same data your billing already uses. Check where your practice software stores it.
5. Review requests and replies
What it does: Sends a review request after a visit. Some tools also draft replies with AI.
Tool options:
- Jane Ratings & Reviews
- What it does: Sends a rating email 3 hours after an arrived appointment ends. It can point patients to Google (Jane guide).
- Cost: "Only available on the Thrive and Legacy Plans" (Jane guide). Thrive is CA$99/month (Jane pricing).
- Verdict: Try it if your college allows review requests (see rules below).
- NiceJob
- Cost: Starter US$75/month includes automated review requests by SMS and email. Pro US$125/month adds AI review replies (NiceJob pricing).
- Fit: The page does not list healthcare as an industry, and we found no Jane or Cliniko integration.
- Verdict: Watch it.
- Google Business Profile
- Cost: Free. Once your business is verified, you can reply to reviews yourself (Google help).
- Verdict: Try it.
Rules to know:
- Google bans incentives for reviews and bans asking only happy patients (Google policy).
- Some Ontario colleges limit testimonials. Jane's own summary table lists Ontario chiropractors, RMTs and naturopaths as "No" for Google reviews (Jane FAQ). Check with your college.
- Never confirm in a reply that someone is a patient.
Setup time: Not stated by these vendors. In Jane, it is a settings change plus your Google Place ID for each location (Jane guide).
Privacy: Jane's feature keeps patient data in Jane. A separate review tool gets patient names and phone numbers, which means sharing health information with a service provider, so you need a written agreement. If you use AI to draft replies, paste in the review text only, never patient records.
Full guide: Review requests and replies for chiropractic clinics
6. Patient follow-up and recall messages
What it does: Reminds patients who are due back, such as for a re-assessment, a cleaning or an eye exam. It also re-contacts patients who dropped off.
Tool options:
- Jane: "Return Visit Reminders" are on the Thrive plan, CA$99/month (Jane pricing). Verdict: Try it if you are on Thrive.
- MaxAssist (formerly RecallMax), dental
- What it does: Its site says it integrates with Eaglesoft, ABELDent and Tracker (MaxAssist).
- Cost: Its plans page blocked our checks. A third-party listing shows a CA$395 starting price, but that is not confirmed on the official page (Capterra Canada).
- Verdict: Watch it.
- Weave: See job 2. It covers reminders and recall in one platform.
Setup time: Not stated by these vendors.
Privacy and spam law: Recall messages ("you're due for a visit") may count as commercial electronic messages under Canada's anti-spam law, CASL. Some transactional messages are exempt from the consent rule (CASL s. 6(6)). The CRTC says commercial messages need a working unsubscribe (CRTC CASL FAQ). Ask your lawyer how your messages are classified.
7. Clinical note drafting (AI scribe)
This is a clinical tool, not just admin. It records or listens to the visit and drafts the chart note. The clinician must review every note. The College of Physiotherapists of Ontario says to "Review all AI-generated notes to ensure they are accurate and complete" and to get patient consent (CPO AI scribe guide).
Tool options:
- Jane AI Scribe
- Cost: CA$15/month per practitioner. Each practitioner gets 5 free notes a month (Jane).
- Privacy: Jane says "Data and transcripts are never used to train AI models" (Jane AI Scribe). Jane's privacy notice also says it uses "a US-based service provider" for this feature, "which requires temporary data processing in the U.S." (Jane privacy notice). By default, recordings are deleted once a draft is made, and a backup copy is deleted after one week (Jane guide).
- Verdict: Try it on the free tier, with patient consent and a privacy impact assessment (see below).
- Heidi Health
- Cost: There is a free plan. Paid plan prices are not shown on the pricing page, so they are not confirmed (Heidi pricing).
- Privacy: Heidi says Canadian patient data is "hosted on cloud infrastructure located in Quebec" (Heidi Canada).
- Ontario program: Heidi is one of 28 vendors pre-qualified for Ontario's AI scribe vendor-of-record arrangement, a list of suppliers the province has pre-approved (Supply Ontario).
- Verdict: Try it on the free plan, with the same consent and assessment.
- Tali AI (Canadian)
- Privacy: Its pricing page lists "Canadian data residency (all data stored in Canada)".
- Cost: The same page shows several conflicting CAD prices, so the current price is not confirmed. A free tier includes 5 AI scribes a month (Tali pricing).
- Ontario program: Tali is also on the Supply Ontario list.
- Verdict: Watch it until the price is clear.
Privacy: Ontario's IPC published AI Scribes: Key Considerations for the Health Sector in January 2026 (IPC guidance). A law-firm summary says it recommends:
- a privacy impact assessment before you start
- strong contract terms with the vendor
- questioning whether you need to keep full audio
- trained humans reviewing the output
- the same care for patients who say no
(Norton Rose Fulbright summary). The IPC site blocked our direct download, so we relied on that summary.
Setup time: Not stated by these vendors.
8. Inbox and email triage
What it does: AI summarises long threads, drafts replies and helps sort the clinic inbox.
Tool options:
- Gemini in Gmail (Google Workspace)
- Cost: Included in Business Starter, CA$9.20/user/month with a 1-year commitment. A promotional price runs from 2026-10-31 to 2027-01-31 (Google Workspace Canada pricing).
- Privacy: Google says Workspace does not use customer data to train models without the customer's permission (Workspace Privacy Hub).
- Microsoft 365 Copilot Business (add-on)
- Cost: CA$24.43/user/month on an annual plan. This is a promotional price for the first year, offered between 2026-07-01 and 2026-12-31. It is CA$34.20 on a monthly plan (Microsoft Canada).
- Privacy: Microsoft says prompts and responses are not used to train its foundation models (Microsoft Learn).
Setup time: Low if you already use the suite. It is an admin toggle or a licence purchase.
Verdict: Watch it for any inbox that holds patient emails. Try it for non-patient admin email.
Privacy: Patient emails contain health information. Before you switch AI features on, check where your email tenant's data is stored, and check the IPC's email guidance (IPC fact sheet).
9. Staff scheduling
What it does: Builds staff shift schedules from availability and lets staff swap shifts.
Honest note: This is mostly rule-based "auto-scheduling", not AI that understands your clinic. Your practitioner booking schedule stays in your practice software.
Tool options:
- Deputy
- Cost: Core is US$6.50/user/month and includes auto-scheduling. Deputy says that outside Australia, NZ and the UK it bills in USD, with a US$30 monthly minimum (Deputy pricing).
- When I Work
- Cost: Essentials is $2.50/user/month for single-location teams and $5 for multi-location, and includes "Auto Scheduling". The currency is not stated; it is likely USD (When I Work pricing).
Setup time: Not stated. Most of the work is entering staff and availability.
Privacy: These tools hold employee data, not patient data. Keep patient details out of shift notes.
Verdict: Try it if you build staff shift rosters by hand. Skip it if only practitioners work your schedule.
10. FAQs and website chat
What it does: A chat widget on your website answers common questions (hours, parking, fees, direct billing) and points people to online booking.
Tool options:
- Tidio Lyro AI Agent: Standalone from US$32.50/month for 50 AI conversations. A free plan includes 50 lifetime AI conversations (Tidio pricing).
- Intercom Fin: US$0.99 per "outcome", plus seats from US$29/month on the Essential plan, billed annually. Only the Expert plan (US$132 per seat/month) lists HIPAA support (HIPAA is the US health privacy law) (Intercom pricing).
- Aeva AI (Cliniko users): Lists a website chat concierge (Cliniko: Aeva AI). Price and data location are as in job 1.
Setup time: Not stated. Most of the work is writing an approved FAQ list.
Privacy: None of these pricing pages mention Canadian data residency. The safest setup is a chatbot that answers only general questions and tells people not to type health details. Booking and health questions should go to your secure booking page or a person.
Verdict: Watch it. If you try one, Tidio's free plan is the cheapest test. Skip Intercom: you pay per seat and per outcome, and only its top plan lists HIPAA support.
Sources
- Jane: pricing, AI Scribe availability, AI Scribe feature, recording deletion, privacy notice, security FAQ, receptionists, Mango Voice, ratings setup, Google reviews setup, ratings FAQ, TELUS, insurer portals
- Cliniko: pricing, Canadian privacy, patient forms, Aeva AI, Lyngo
- ZeroMiss pricing; ZeroMiss physio
- Smith.ai pricing; Smith.ai medical FAQ
- Weave: pricing, terms, Canadian PHI DPA, Dentrix integration
- MaxAssist; Capterra Canada listing
- Heidi pricing; Heidi Canada; Tali pricing; Supply Ontario AI scribe VOR
- NiceJob pricing; Google review policy; Google: manage reviews
- Google Workspace Canada pricing; Workspace Privacy Hub; Microsoft Copilot Canada pricing; Microsoft Copilot privacy
- Deputy pricing; When I Work pricing; Tidio pricing; Intercom pricing
- Privacy and rules: IPC AI scribe guidance; Norton Rose Fulbright summary; IPC email fact sheet; OPC cross-border guidelines; OPC third-party guidance; CPO AI principles; CPO AI scribe guide; CCO S-016; CASL; CRTC CASL FAQ